Laurence Olivier Awards

Laurence Olivier Awards Quick Facts

2021 Date4 April 2021
Laurence Olivier Awards

Laurence Olivier Awards History

The Laurence Olivier Awards seek to recognise excellence in professional theatre. This day honours those who exceed expectations and perform at a high level. A range of categories is covered including plays, dance, musicals, and opera. Judges consist of a team of professional panelists put together by the Society of London Theatre. Depending on the category, members of the public may also vote for nominees.

The Laurence Olivier Awards were established in 1976 by the Society of London Theatre. They were originally called the Society of West End Theatre Awards but were renamed in 1984 in honour of British actor Laurence Olivier. They are observed annually near the beginning of April.

Laurence Olivier Awards Facts

  • In 2020, the Best Actress award went to Sharon D. Clarke for her performance in the Young Vic and Piccadilly's, Death Of A Salesman. The Best Actor award went to Andrew Scott for his performance in The Old Vic's, Present Laughter.
  • The Olivier Award winners are chosen by four panels each overseen by the Society of London Theatre (SOLT). Professional panelists are chosen for their knowledge in the selected field. Each panel is made up of various members including journalists, casting directors, arts administrators and publishers all specifically chosen for their passion for London theatre.
  • The original awards were commissioned blue Wedgewood urns. They were changed in 1984, when the award show was renamed the Laurance Olivier Awards. The new award was changed from blue urns to bronze statues of a young Laurence Olivier portrayed as Henry V.

Laurence Olivier Awards Top Events and Things to Do

Copyright 2002-2021 © Sapro Systems LLC • About Privacy Policy License Terms Corrections & Suggestions